Nominate your rural health providers for the 2019 BC Rural Health Awards!

Dr. Geoffrey Appleton received the 2018 Award of Excellence in Rural Medicine: Lifetime Achievement from RCCbc representative, Dr. Kirstie Overhill

Do you know a fantastic rural health care team and/or rural physician who has done amazing work in your community? Do you want to celebrate a healthcare team that is providing grassroots, innovative virtual care to your population? Nominate these great people for a 2019 BC Rural Health Award! Not only will they get bragging rights and a plaque, they will also receive $2,500 to host a celebration in their rural community or to support a local rural medical resource (e.g., a program, a clinical tool, a CME resource, etc.)

Rural providers can be nominated in one of the three categories:

Rural BC Community Award

Celebrates a community that has developed innovative and collaborative approaches and solutions to local healthcare issues, or supported and enhanced the sustainability of the rural health care services and/or providers within their community.

Award of Excellence in Rural Medicine: Team-based Virtual Care in Rural Family Practice

Honours a grassroots community healthcare team that supports primary care service delivery to rural and remote communities. A virtual care approach that focuses on relationship-based care, collaboration with local providers, and delivery of care closer-to-home will be especially valued.

Award of Excellence in Rural Medicine: Lifetime Achievement

Recognizes a rural physician who has dedicated his/her career to serving one or more rural communities and is close to or already retired. Physicians must have worked a minimum of 15 years in rural practice to qualify.

The nomination criteria and forms for these awards are available online. Deadline for nominations is Friday, March 1, 2019. For more info, contact Sharon at