Changes to Awards of Excellence in Rural Medicine, nominations open

2016 Awards of Excellence in Rural Medicine recipients, along with RCCbc consultants Dr. Kirstie Overhill (far left) and Mary Johnston (far right). Recipients shown (left to right): Dr. Jel Coward; Dr. Blair Stanley for Waneta Primary Care Clinic; Ms. Cherie Whittaker and Dr. Ella Munroe for Cascadia Medical Clinic and Princeton General Hospital.

This year, the Rural Coordination Centre of BC (RCCbc) is putting out a call for nominations for three awards, now collectively known as the BC Rural Health Awards. For the first time, a cash award will be distributed along with a plaque of recognition for each recipient.

In 2017, RCCbc will recognizing one recipient in each of three following categories:

  • Rural BC Community Award
  • Award of Excellence in Rural Medicine: Annual Theme
  • Award of Excellence in Rural Medicine: Lifetime Achievement

The Rural BC Community Award will honour a community that has developed innovative and collaborative approaches and solutions to local health care issues. Communities that have supported or enhanced the sustainability of rural health care services and/or providers in their community may also apply for recognition in this category. Communities may nominate themselves or be nominated by a third party.

The Awards of Excellence in Rural Medicine will acknowledge the contributions of two physicians – one who exemplifies the highlighted quality for the “Annual Theme” award,  and one who has contributed at least 15 years of service to rural medical practice for the “Lifetime Achievement” award. Physicians for these awards may only be nominated by a third party.

The “Annual Theme” for RCCbc’s 2017 award is innovation. We invite nominations to recognize practitioners who do innovative work within a medical practice, rural community, or within the larger health care system.

Each of these awards will consist of an engraved plaque and a cash award of $2,500 to fund a community celebration. Any monies remaining from the celebration may be applied to health care practices and/or projects within the recipient’s rural community.

Deadline for nominations is Wednesday, March 15, 2017. Please submit your nomination packages to:

Sharon Mah
Communications Manager, RCCbc
620 – 1665 W. Broadway, Vancouver, BC  V6J 1X1

Download the 2017 criteria for the BC Rural Health Awards now

Fill out this The BC Rural Health Awards Nomination Form for your recommendations