Awards of Excellence in Rural Medicine recognize rural interprofessional teams, physicians

2016 Awards of Excellence in Rural Medicine winners
(Left to right): Dr. Kirstie Overhill; Award winners Dr. Jel Coward (individual), and Dr. Blair Stanley (for Waneta Primary Care Clinic); Award winners Ms. Cherie Whittaker and Dr. Ella Munro (for Cascadia Medical Clinic and Princeton General Hospital); Dr. Mary Johnston.

The Rural Coordination Centre of BC (RCCbc) recognized three BC rural physicians and two rural community interprofessional health care teams for their accomplishments and contributions to rural medical practice. The awards were handed out at RCCbc’s annual rural conference, the Rural Emergency Continuum of Care (RECC) in Prince George, BC on Thursday, June 9, 2016.

Three physicians – Drs. Jel Coward (Pemberton), Norm Lea (Nakusp), and David May (Powell River) – were honoured for contributions that greatly elevated the health and well-being of their respective communities.

For the first time in the history of the Awards of Excellence in Rural Medicine, two interprofessional health care teams were nominated for recognition. The integrated physician-nurse practitioner team at Waneta Primary Care Clinic in Trail, BC was given the “Sustained Community” award for its work in sustaining the health and well-being of the community over many years. The “Resilient Community” award recognized the work of 21 physicians, nurses, allied healthcare professionals and administrators at the Cascade Medical Centre and Princeton General Hospital. This group worked hard in the face of several challenging situations to substantively improve the health and well-being of the community of Princeton.

2016 marks the third year that RCCbc has recognized healthcare practitioners for their contribution and dedication to rural medical practice in British Columbia. In 2014, ‘Outstanding Mentors’ were recognized for their training and mentorship support of new-to-practice rural doctors. In 2015, RCCbc recognized ‘Rural Opinion Leaders’ who facilitated best clinical practices, embodied personal and professional excellence, and demonstrated lifelong dedication to their communities.

The Awards of Excellence in Rural Medicine are made possible through the generous funding provided by the Joint Standing Committee on Rural Issues (JSC). The JSC is a joint collaboration between the BC government and the Doctors of BC that provides policy oversight as well as funding for rural physician programs to increase recruitment and retention of doctors in British Columbia.

Click here for the biographies of award winners

View the SOHC Society’s nomination of the Princeton team