Awards of Excellence in Rural Physician Mentorship

MentorshipAwardsThe inaugural Rural Physician Mentorship Awards were presented during the 2014 Rural Emergency Continuum of Care in Penticton, BC on May 30.

At the 2014 Rural Emergency Continuum of Care (RECC) conference dinner, 11 of BC’s finest rural physicians were presented with the inaugural Awards of Excellence in Rural Physician Mentorship.

The awards – organized by Northern Health, the Rural Coordination Centre of BC (RCCbc) and the UBC Northern Medical Program – recognized 11 practitioners that have worked tirelessly to shape, support and promote rural medicine amongst BC’s medical student, residents, and new rural physicians. They have taught and supervised generations of learners; organized and advocated for rurally-relevant CME/CPD that can be delivered closer to home; and, championed for improved services and collaborative practice in their rural communities.

Awards of Excellence were presented to the following rural physicians:

  •  Dr. James Card
  • Dr. Sean Ebert
  • Dr. Kim Grieve
  • Dr. Ray Markham
  • Dr. Paul Mackey
  • Drs. Sarah and John Pawlovich
  • Dr. Robb Sebastian

Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to:

  • Dr. Granger Avery
  • Dr. Mary Johnston
  • Dr. Trina Larsen Soles

These physicians are a shining example of how a small number of thoughtful, passionate people can create change on a large scale, leading the way in supporting excellence in BC rural healthcare.

View photos of the ceremony


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *