Kudos to award winners!

Fishing downstream from a bridge in Terrace, BC[/caption]

UBC Faculty of Medicine Awards of Excellence for Community Practice Teaching

Drs. Warwick Evans and Michael Kenyon of Terrace, BC along with Dr. Andrew McLaren of Nanaimo, BC were distinguished by UBC’s Faculty of Medicine with Awards of Excellence for Community Practice Teaching. Dr. Evans is a Clinical Instructor with the Northern Medical Program while Drs. Kenyon and McLaren are clinical instructors with the Island Medical Program.

Congratulations to all and thanks for your tremendous contribution to medical education in BC!


Dr. Stanley Lubin named one of Canada’s Family Physicians of the Year by CFPC

The College of Family Physicians of Canada conferred one of 10 Reg L. Perkins Awards (Canada’s Family Physician of the Year) to  Dr. Stanley Lubin at its November Family Medicine Forum conference in Toronto.

Dr. Lubin, who recently retired, began his career as a family physician and anesthetist in Sechelt, BC. He  moved to Vancouver to take on the role of Head of the Department of Family Practice at Shaughnassy Hospital and served as the Director of the Inpatient Family Practice teaching ward at the UBC Faculty of Medicine in 1987. Dr. Lubin continued to provide full-service family practice, including obstetrics and hospital care until his recent retirement.

Read a full summary of Dr. Lubin’s accomplishments on UBC Faculty of Medicine’s web site

The Reg L. Perkins Award recognizes ten family physicians – one from each province – for their exceptional patient care, their contributions to health and their community, and for their dedication as researchers and/or educators of future generations of family physicians.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *